The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to planted tanks. My 20g tank currently has a co2 tank and some pretty decent light. But my plants seem to be dying and browning and its accelerating. Nitrate,PH and amonia seem fine. What could this deficency be?

Figuring it must be a deficency of something and serious at this point I bought some Seachem Flourish sense im unsure which deficiency it is.
So what do I do?
How do I fix this? Are these plants all doomed?

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Your Plants

Soul...

I can only coach you from a low tech standpoint. CO2 really isn't needed to grow plants. If you have a couple of watts of 6500 K light per gallon of tank volume, faithfully change half the water in your tank weekly and dose a good organic fertilizer, that's all you need. If you go beyond these basics, I think you leave little room for error.

B

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i started some flourish fert dousing today, Im just a little afraid that if that doesnt fix the problem ill have a ton of dead plants by the end of the week

·
Registered
4,221 Posts
If you post the lighting and lighting period it will help too.

Not sure what plant that is in the photo that is looking so pale. Big box pet stores sell more non aquatic plants than aquatic ones and I hear even fish stores do the same. Hope the plants you bought are able to live underwater!

If you have CO2 on the tank I am guessing you don't just have the stock T8 bulb on the tank. You may have loads of light and lots of CO2 but if the plants aren't getting fed the basics they cannot grow well and the tank will be filled with algae.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
x2 t5ho 24 watts its going for about 10 hours or so (sometimes much more cuz im at work)