The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to planted tanks but have been dealing with saltwater reefs for many years and freshwater fish for years before that. A friend of mine at work challenged me to a contest to see who could set up the best pico. We'll have a couple of folks around the office judge and the loser buys lunch for the winner. I have a tall 1 gallon tank that I scrounged from a friend, I'm planning on putting a 50/50 compact flourescent screwin bulb into a desk lamp for lighting, and will fertilize regularly.

I like simple so let me describe my vision and see if somebody can fill in the missing plant.

I have a base of gravel with dwarf hairgrass covering. I have a small (obviously) piece of driftwood. I have 2 or 3 white clouds. And, here's where I need some help, a plant that will be planted relatively central and will remain slender for the 1st third or so of it's height before it branches out, think of the shadow of an oak tree. I want the leaves to be slender, possibly a little lacey.

So, with that info, I'll readily take recomendations on anything and everything from fertilizers to plants, to lighting, to photoperiod, to whether or not to dose CO2, etc. With what little I know about planted tanks, any tidbit you give me will be useful.

Ken

·
Registered
705 Posts
dont use a 50 50 buld go with a daylight plants wont flourish under atnics.
as for co2 excel would work nicely.

as for the mystery plant hemathius micranthemodes might work depending on your lighting intensity also trimming will be a key part in making sure it grows outwards.

·
Registered
246 Posts