The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, i have Red Ludwigia (Ludwigia repens)it grow like a weed but old growth gets black spots on it looks like crap.does anybody know what causes this or had the same problem and fixed it.its a 45 gallon high ei dose and pressure co2 in the green.thanks.

·
Registered
168 Posts
I have this going on with mine, and from what I understand it's due to low nutrient levels, more specifically nitrogen and phosphorous.

Keep in mind I'm still new to all the chem with pants in a aquarium but I believe this is right,

and welcome to TPT.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
90% of plant problems are due to lack of good CO2 consistent with the light level being used, which is usually too high. (OK, maybe it is 60%, but it is still the major cause of plant growth problems.) Fertilizing can be done almost without thought, by just following an EI method, so you know you always have enough of all of the nutrients. But, getting the CO2 right can be a big puzzle for many people, and the percent that understand that you don't need very high light intensity, normally used with reef tanks, to grow plants isn't nearly as big as it should be. Always look at those two factors first and get them "right", before worrying about specific nutrients.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
Are you getting the black spots on new leaf or the older ones? Are you using micros also?

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Are you getting the black spots on new leaf or the older ones? Are you using micros also?