The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a plant noob and what I'm looking for is a plant package that would do well for my low-tech 10 gallon tank. I have a fluorite bed about 1 1/2 inches, 78 C temp water, and 18 W lighting. I am hoping for plants that will not grow too fast to require maintenance and at the same time outcompete algae. I am planning on getting driftwood and some rocks soon.

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
bravofleet4 said:
doesn't hydrophilia and rotala rotund require at least medium to high lighting?

i am going around 1.5 W per gallon
Im growing Sunset Hygro and Rotal Rotundifolia in 1.5 wpg. The rotala was 2 inches below the water line about a week ago and now its just at the water line.

Get more light. If you intend to stay withthe hobby you will anyway.
Yes and No. This is a mixed statement IMHO. If you want fast results and pruning every week then More light is definitely for you. But if not then you can go low light/low tech. Keeping it simple and also dont have to worry about pruning everyweek. It just takes longer to have things grow.

Hope your tank comes out nice :D

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
It takes a long time even for a high light with out co2 but with 1.5 watts per gallon it takes years to grow!!!! lol
Its a waiting game but I been noticing fast growth in my Rotala and my Petite nana. I had gotten 2 New leaves on my Petite nana in the last week and I think another is on its way. The rotala had little branching stems a week ago and they are about 2-4 inches now.

·
Premium Member
9,417 Posts
To get your tank to fill out nicely in a short amount of time, I'd upgrade your lighting. Plus, it gives you the flexibility to grow a large variety of plants as you get more involved in the hobby.