The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone ever used it? Pros and cons would be appreciated.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I appreciate the threads but neither talk about petco brand black sand. One mentions petco gravel but I'm not interested in that. Thanks for trying though. Any other input?

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have it in my 6.6gal,

Only had it for a couple of weeks but so far, so good. (I don't have any soil or anything underneath it though 'cause I'm a newb and didn't know you are supposed to do that for planted tanks!) My crypts are doing really well in particular. All the ones in there actually came from one small pot, had to split them a few times already.

My favorite part about it though is that is was really clean. I rinsed it a little in a bucket but I don't think that is even necessary with this sand. Very little dust. Water cleared up in no time!

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah I'm interested in it mostly for granules size. I dont wabt gravel but pfs packs down too tight and locks gas under which rots out roots if u dont stir it. Thanks for the photo that's a beautiful tank and don't do a bottom layer of soil its a huge mess root tabs work great and I home make mine so they're really cheap. Like $20 for a years supply for a 125 gallon tank!

·
Registered
173 Posts
Go with diamond black blasting sand it is the same stuff. Make sure you get the larger grain version Tractor Supply carries the stuff. It is $8 for a 50lb bag.
Thanks for the tip. Will strongly consider.

Was considering Flourite black sand, but they want $20 for a bag of 17-19LBS.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Is it large grain? I need large grain to keep it from compacting. I've also heard sand blasting sand is sharp, I have at least 20 corydoras and a 7" Synodontis so...

·
Registered
240 Posts