The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.

I'm a longtime reader and lurker, but given that I am just beginning to put together my next tank I thought I would ask for some advice. I do have experience in large low tech setups, but honestly, this is going to be a different animal I think.

First off, what I want is a corner pentagon shaped aquarium (If not this something like it). I plan to go low tech and I'm getting completely away from my schooling fish I normally have in my tanks. I've absolutely fallen in love with the Peruvian altums (Yes, I know they're not altums), and I'd like to build a South American cichlid aquarium around them. Besides the angels my plan is for a group of Bolivian rams (another favorite) and an easier type of apisto (A. cacatuoides or A. agassizii). Nothing else, I'm thinking, besides these three species.

The actual plan is to stack a stump and rocks against the corner and plant the two large Amazon swords that are bursting out of my 55 gallon around those rocks and stumps. Maybe some java moss and small crypts if I can make it work. Nothing fancy, though.

My questions are basically:
1.) Will this mix of fish work? I've kept angels and rams before, but never in breeding situations. Would the tank be simply too aggressive during spawning?
2.) How would I go about lighting this thing? I thought about a single Kessil Tuna Sun to spotlight over the swords (leaving the sides clear of plants), but that seems way overkill for maintaining a low tech setup.

Ideas, theories, and insults?

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
How many gallon tank? Dimensions (for lighting and enough space for proper fish territories)? Sure it's a pent and not a hexagon (more common)?

EDIT: lol nvm, I just now saw the link...so 90 gallons?

·
Registered
231 Posts
90 gallon pentagon. The back corner is a 90 degree angle, so the drift wood needs to shaped to fit. This one leaves a space behind for fish to hide..