The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I have noticed when folks ask about certain testing for ferts i.e. magnesium, potassium etc., I see the same answers....no need.
I have asked about testing potassium and got the same answer...no need.
I am a beginner and I would like to know why most people don't test for important ferts?
I know that Potassium is very important, so why should we not test for it?
Why is it not a good thing to know what our test results would be?
We test our water for what is important for our fish, why not for our plants?
I really don't know what the build up of the ferts are in my tank, (I do 50% WC a week because it is recommended for EI). So, would it not make sense to test and make dosing much easier and take out some of the guess work?
I am a beginner at best and I have been watching my plants. I do not know what looks like a deficiency from[censored] toxicity in my plants. I just know that[censored] sometimes "something" is not quite right.[censored]
While I know that all tanks are different and dosing is hit and miss getting it right, I feel like if I were to test the important parameters I could be little more accurate with my dosing and plant watching. Also, I[censored] would feel[censored] more comfortable about the overall health of my tank and what my plants need at the time, instead of throwing ferts in the tank and hope I am correct in what I dose.
I have read and read, but it is still mostly a mystery to me, but I am trying to learn.
My guess is that some people are more comfortable at guessing or formulating what is needed for their dosing, but I am a beginner that likes to know for sure or close to sure. Maybe it's the noob in me....lol
Also, would I not learn better using tests and having the results to compare to how my plants are growing?
If it is the cost of test kits that people don't test? If it is reasonable, I would not mind.