The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

To be upfront, I keep up with water changes and filter maintenance. However I'm not good at scaping and the tank has become overgrown with a snail infestation(my fault for not catching it sooner), and my Panda Cories bred and went from 5 to at least 20 in this 20 gallon long.

The only good thing going for it is that the water chemistry remains stable.

I'm afraid I'll never get rid of the snails and that the Cories will keep breeding. What's the best thing to do in this situation? Do I tear it down and start over? Is there such a thing as an aquascaping service that would rebuild the tank?
Water Rectangle Pet supply Plant Vegetation

Equipment

20 gallon long
Fluval 107 canister filter (using purigen and matrix along with the default stuff)
Finnex 24/7 planted+
Dosing seachem ferts with excel according to their guide (no CO2)

·
Super Moderator
15,776 Posts
Water looks kind of cloudy. How much and how frequently are you feeding? Looks like there's a ton of detritus piling up. When there's an overabundant supply of food, that's when snail populations expand. Keep feeding and maintenance in check and they won't explode in numbers. (Snails are beneficial for your tank)

That aside - it looks like you just need some regular maintenance, a stable feeding regimen and some trimming.

·
Premium Member
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks so much! There is a spot there below the feeding ring. It’s hard to determine how much to feed that many cories. I feed twice a day, 2 large pinches of flakes. Time for a gravel vac.

The water is actually seems clear(to my untrained eye), I can see straight to the bottom as well.
Plant Terrestrial plant Natural material Groundcover Grass
Plant Organism Terrestrial plant Grass Food

·
Registered
531 Posts