The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know you all see a million of these threads, but once again I am a newbie with my first planted tank and would like some help from you pros out there. So here it is:

t is a 135 gallon, so 72" long, 18" Wide, and 25" tall. The lighting is two 72" 10,000K VHO bulbs (160 watts each). I am not running CO2. It is running two sumps, overflows, and return lines. Currently it houses a Pacu, Green Severum, gold Gourami, and an Opaline Gourami. Soon I will be adding 3 L200 and L134 Plecos, 6 Gephagus Altifrons, and 6 Corydoras Sterbai. More fish to come later.

In the tank right now are Vallisneria, various Crypts (ciliata, wendtii (bronze, red, and green) and lutea), bolbitis, Java Fern, Amazon Sword, and a Rose Swords. There are also two large pieces of drift wood in the tank.

This was all done today, and I just cannot seem to get it to look "right". What am I missing here? Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are VAlls in the back right, but it is hard to make them out in the picture. Would you move some of the crypts from the lower left into the center enar the swords?

·
Premium Member
9,417 Posts
In front of the swords, I'd have either the crypts or some java fern sp. needle leaf just so there's something there. Something shorter than the swords would definately be nice.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have some red, green, and bronze Wendtii on the left there, all in a bunch, I think I may move some of the stems over there in front. Thanks for opinion! Keep them coming!

·
Registered
3,143 Posts
You do know how big pacus get, yes? :eek! You're already overstocked if you look at max fish size, and you plan on adding MORE? Hmmm... personally I would reconsider your stock. Also, pacus have been known to be lawnmowers and may shred your plants. They have a big mean grin, but they are really herbivores.

·
Registered