The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone kept any of these shrimp? I am thinking of starting a brackish water tank for these guys. But I can seem to find what type of water parameters are needed for these shrimps.

In particular, what salinity is needed for these guys? I have never tried to go salt water before so please share your experiences with brackish water tanks. Like how you change the water for them.

Also what tempertures is best for them? I assume the kh value doesn't matter but at least a 5 gh value. Correct me if I am wrong.

Does anyone know what plants can be grown at that salinity?

Does anyone know where I can get some with out buying a kit or the tanks that come with them?

·
Registered
126 Posts
opae'ulas - halocaridina rubra

Hi,

I've kept them for 4+ yrs. now.
started out with a 1/2gal with 25 juveniles.
stayed at 25 until a few months ago.
this past summer, after I guess they got old enough, they started breeding and didn't stop until the weather turned colder.
there are now over 100 of them.
I recently - last week - trasferred them over to a 3gal tank - 78*F, 7.6pH, 1.008sg. I've read they can tolerate 1.000sg-1.040sg, if acclimated slowly enough, but have only had them as high as 1.014sg. Their preferred range is supposed to be 1.005sg-1.010sg.

since the new tank is heated, I'm hoping they start breeding again after they get used to it.

make sure they have plenty of algae to eat. Barring that, feed them crushed spiralina algae. Also, build a small mound with lava rocks. This provides them with plenty of nooks and caves to get busy in.

good luck!

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks very imformative. Where you able to keep any plants with it at all?

Also by any chance would u be willing to sell any? Or do u know someone who can?

These seem pretty awesome

·
Registered
126 Posts

no problems.