The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I've tried to do plants in the past and I usally end up with a big mess and a bunch of dead plants. I've been keeping fish for many years and have had good success with that. I've just recently started trying to add some plants again, but I thought I would get some advise from the experts before I get too deep into it again.

My current set up is a 210 gallon oceanic with 2 canister filters. My substrate was pool filter sand, but I recently added 2 bags of Floramax to that, for the plants. I've got a mixed community tank (love the clown loaches and the roselines!) I've got 3 250w MH and 8 t5s, so I think I have plenty of light. I've been filling my freshwater tanks with my well water with no ill effects to the fish, but it's pretty hard water and I'm wondering if that has been some of my problem in the past? I have a RO/DI unit, but it will take a while to produce 210 gallons! :) C02 could be an option, but I'm a little hesitant to make that jump since I've had such bad luck in the past.

Anyway, like I said, I've been away a while and thought I would check in and get some ideas on where to go from here. Thanks!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The lights are a fairly new addition (as is the tank.) My past endevours have been 29g and 55g, so this is my first experience with a large planted tank. Currently I'm only running the t5s until I get more plants that will actually use the light. I'm actually looking into options for c02...doing a bit more research.

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
The lights are a fairly new addition (as is the tank.) My past endevours have been 29g and 55g, so this is my first experience with a large planted tank. Currently I'm only running the t5s until I get more plants that will actually use the light. I'm actually looking into options for c02...doing a bit more research.