The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever seen this moss before? Is it a "new" one, or just another common name for one already known in the aquarium trade? I've done searches on it, including searching this forum, to no avail.
Aquabid Oak Moss listing
Direct link to the picture only

Thanks in advance! :biggrin:

·
Registered
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's a good idea, Clone ~ I'll do that. I just thought I'd try here first since I'm very impressed with the wealth of knowledge here and figured if it were well known, y'all could tell me not only what it was but how to grow it. I'm a newbie and have been reading a LOT of old forum posts these past few weeks and have learned quite a bit from you all.

Since I am new to planted tanks, I'm not really interested in buying it now as I've still got some practice that needs to be done before I branch out into plants that aren't well known (I'll still need to call on all y'all experienced ones quite regularly I imagine :help: ;) ). But I am interested in growing a lot of different mosses in the future, so am always on the lookout for new ones to add to my Future Wish List along with Taiwan, XMas, Weeping, etc.

So, anybody else know what it is, if it's an oldie with a "new" name, how to grow it, etc.? If I hear back from the Aquabid seller, I'll post it here in case anyone's curious.

·
Registered
974 Posts
I haven't seen the plant before. I would venture to say it isn't a moss....see how the leaves/fronds are growing off a stem? there even seems to be a rhizome on the far left one. It may not even be aquatic.

Unless you can get a true name for the plant and can verify it is aquatic, I'd leave it be for that price.

·
Registered
845 Posts