The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this addicti.... I mean hobby... and am trying to set up a new freshwater 36" tank. I wanted to get a T-5 fixture, and my LFS recommended the NOVA extremes they had there (of course he would recommend the ones they had in stock, but still). Anyway, my concern is that the NOVAs say they are not for use with an uncovered tank, when I intended to not use any cover.

The guy at the LFS didn't seem concerned about that detail, but I wanted to run it by the forums. Google searches aren't turning up any good info. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
I just purchased a Nova 24" light and I have it over an open top tank, but the light has a plexiglass cover over the lights. It came with legs so it sits above the water several inches. I think you will be fine using that as long as you don't just sit it on the tank rim. Also, I would check Dr. Fosters and Smith's website because they were running a sale on them and you may get them cheaper thru them. Here is a link http://www.drsfostersmith.com/fish-supplies/pr/c/3578

·
Banned
1,086 Posts
I think they're just protecting themselves from liability should your fixture fall in the water. As long as you understand the legs supplied with the fixture are only meant to sit on the tank rim and not used as a sliding device you should be fine. I always keep a few extra legs around. :D

SteveU

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
I use a 36" Nova Extreme 4x39 Watt over an open top 46 gallon bow front. I don't use the plexiglass shield because, cooler bulbs will give you more light output. Since the light is on legs, I don't get water spots on the shields or bulbs. I do have it plugged into a GFCI outlet though.

·
Banned
1,086 Posts