The Planted Tank Forum banner

Normal for Crypt Parva?

1451 22
I'm a beginner who started a planted tank almost three weeks ago. I've noticed some melt on my Crpyt Wendtii, a lot of melt on one of my Anubias Nana, and more recently noticed my Crypt Parva looking like this. Is this normal? It's almost as if it's rotting...
Plant Ingredient Terrestrial plant Grass Insect
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
300 Posts
clean off the rotting material on your other clumps. try to separate and plant each indivdual parva. it is a slow growing crypt and takes a while to get established. your substrate looks a bit too fine.

your tank is probably not fully cycled yet so either dim lights or reduce photoperiod to reduce risk of algae. wendtii and nana are low light plants, parva needs a little more. after tank cycles, increase lighting slightly and start lean fertilization.

· Registered
107 Posts
Crypts that are newly planted or go through significant environmental changes can melt, so what you are seeing is normal based on my personal experiences. If those were originally grown emersed, you should expect a lot of melting and eventually most of the original leaves will die as new submerged growth comes in. Agree with the poster above about just removing the dead plant matter. Parva is a difficult one for me; it is a slow grower so try and be patient with it.

· Administrator
17,894 Posts
Well boo... I got several recommendations so this is annoying.
It can work in a low-tech environment. But it's tricky even for longtime hobbyists.

I've had it in low-tech shrimp scapes for years without CO2 but it does not thrive like it does with CO2. And on occasion, it completely dies out. I find it does best with Aqua Soil Amazonia, decent flow, cool temps. Water hardness can also impact it on occasion. I've always had the best luck keeping it in 0 kH 5 gH water. Others have kept it in a wide range of parameters but those who have the best luck, I think, are using pressurized CO2.