The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, total noob here, but I have poked around a bit on the forum before posting.

I just got a standard 5 gallon glass kit from Walmart, and would like to start a planted tank with fish...I like pygmy corys, but that part isn't set in stone.

The first picture is the empty tank with filter. The mesh you see at the back is where I'd like to put a Java Moss wall. I would probably put an inch of black sand on the bottom of the tank. That leaves the ugly bare spot where the filter intake is (and that's where the hood cutouts are). I thought about using some of the extra mesh and making a 2 inch high barrier (2nd picture), braced with rocks (glued to mesh if needed). Inside the barrier i would probably use some kind of regular gravel that wouldnt get through the mesh, and plant a couple of crypts or just plop a mat of java fern on top. all that would be left is a bitty piece of driftwood for the center for the fishes to hide.

I just wanted your thoughts on that plan, or if you have better ideas (which I do not doubt). I just thought the "ledge-bi-level-effect" might look cool, but it might be too small a tank to pull off, so if you have alternatives, I'm all eyes.

Thanks!

·
Registered
203 Posts
First of all, I think your idea of a nano pygmy cory tank is excellent. I have a 10g tank that is dedicated to pygmy corys and a pair of otos. I see no reason that you can't do a split level such as you intend. The fish will definitely appreciate the driftwood, java moss and any other hiding places you could provide such as small rock caves or ledges.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Well, it doesn't look so hot so far. My meager talent and budget aren't up to the task, it seems. :icon_cry: