The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally lost when it comes to water chemistry. im new to this planted aquarium thing. i've never test my water before. Im planning to get a water testing kit, but the thing is how do i know what im reading and how would i know if its at the right level for my plants and fish. And what does the numbers mean

·
Super Moderator
12,025 Posts
The included instruction manual that comes with the water testing kits are a good starter for getting some information on what you are testing for, etc.

Here are some basic things that we can test for:

Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrates
Phosphates
gH
kH
pH

I would recommend everything (perhaps with the exception of phosphates), at the very least. A phosphate test kit can be useful, especially if you have a planted aquarium.

In terms of levels, ammonia and nitrites should read zero. For the other parameters, it depends on what you are trying to accomplish. In general, planted aquariums have anywhere from 5-20 ppm of nitrates. gH, kH and pH can vary.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
Tests are calibrates to read in certain values. Some tests are pretty much always done using only certain units. Some tests can be calibrated in any of several ways.

The most common tests done in aquarium keeping are:

Ammonia. Most tests do not distinguish between ammonia (NH3) and ammonium (NH4+)
Ammonia is toxic to fish, and when their body makes ammonia, they get rid of it though their gills. Also, decomposing poop, fallen food, fallen leaves can produce ammonia as they decompose.
There are beneficial bacteria that remove ammonia from the water and turn it into nitrite. In a new tank there are almost none of these bacteria, so you cannot add fish. The fish would poison themselves. Do a fishless cycle to grow the beneficial bacteria, and learn about using test kits without harming fish.