The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know you guys have to answer the same dumb stupid noob questions but can you help me plz.

hey everyone, I have some dum noob questions.

Q.1 I have a 10gl with some plants and no fish I want to get it so I dont have to clean it and the plant do that. Right now it has 19watt flouresent light 20gl fillter system and next to window for more light. It has been running for 2 days (new for my room). I added some salt (right?). Just regular gravel. 20gl heater. Im gonna wait to put some fish and wood(nothing fake).I also have lot of co2 tanks sitting around can I use those and buy just the part of the co2 system and save some money or I cant really do that? plz I am very poor.
hey, can so guys recommend the equipment I need because I have crap stuff and I am also a stupid noob. for example like what type of subsrate, filter stuff, temp, what to add to water for good growing, and stuff plz.

Any suggestions on anything even fish?

Thank You ( I am drowning in my own drewl when I look at everyones planted tanks)

I LOVE YOU GUYS

·
Registered
659 Posts
Rex Grigg's site is a great place to start: http://www.rexgrigg.com/

You mentioned not wanting to have to clean the tank, but you'll still have to clean/maintain a planted tank. So while a tank full of healthy plants will certainly improve the tank's environment for its inhabitants by using up some of the nutrients created by fish waste and excess food as fertilizer and by producing oxygen through photosynthesis, you will still need to keep up with water changes and other tank maintenance to ensure healthy plants and healthy fish/shrimp/snails/etc.

The sunlight coming throught the window is a light source that you can't control which could result in some algae (I'm not sure), but my tanks don't get any direct sunlight, so I can't speak from experience as to whether, in general, the extra light is a pro or a con.