The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been doing some reading, but I'm still a quite unsure... I have a 5.5 gallon with 27 watts of light and I'll be using excel.

I've read about PMDD. Does that have everything I need in it?

Since I've never done this before, I didn't want things to get super complicated and/or expensive. For a beginner like me, what's my best option? I can either do the PMDD thing or measure out dry ferts separately.

Also... how would I measure out 1/64 of a tsp??

thank you :D

·
Registered
283 Posts
For my 10G I simply multiplied the dosage until I reached a large enough number to work with (1/4 tsp in my case). Each dose was supposed to be 1/32 tsp, so I mixed 1/4 tsp with 8 Tbsp of distilled water in a bottle.

Now each 1 Tbsp has a 1/32 tsp dose.

You could do the same but with 16 Tbsp of water per 1/4 tsp of ferts. This would be 16 doses.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
http://oregonaquadesign.vstore.ca/product_info.php/pName/16oz-fertilizer-bottle/cName/containers is a container that is very good for dosing small tanks. The little dose chamber at the top will let you measure out one ounce accurately, so you just put 16 doses of fertilizer in the bottle, fill it to the 16 ounce marking, and dose one ounce at a time. I have been using two of these for about 2 years, and they work great. I print my ingredients list on an address label, stick it to the bottle, cover it with transparent tape, and I can refill the bottle quickly with little thought involved.

·
Premium Member
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Great! That solves one issue. Now for the other bigger issue. What's PMDD, and should I use that or separate dry ferts? I'll be using whatever I get on both my 5.5 gallon and 50 gallon.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts