The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Hello. :) So around 2 weeks ago I purchased a Fluval C2 to replace my Aquaclear 20 for my 10 gallon. I loved my AC and it always kept my water pristine, but the motor was becoming unreliable and would always cut off on its own. So I went and got the C2 as an upgrade. I heard lots of great reviews about it, and how it is as quiet as the AC line. Unfortunately, that didn't work out for me. The filter was extremely noisy when I first got it. I thought to myself "Well, it probably just needs time to break in." so I left it alone for a few days. It was still incredibly noisy and rattling. I lathered some Vaseline in the motor and propeller area. It only helped a little bit. The filter itself is also balanced against the aquarium too. And it isn't the hood being kept on there that is making the rattling noise either.

Any who, I just need some guidance. I guess I am still a bit new to the hobby being in it only a year and a half. What do you all do to quiet your noisy filters?

Also forgot to mention the water flowing noise in the filter. My water level is high enough, but somewhere in the filter, there is water flow noise.

·
Registered
48 Posts
sounds like you have trapped air... in which case the impeller may have ran dry.... Which wears the shaft, possibly causing the noise, did you bleed the system at the onset?

Sent using Tapatalk from my ZX81

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I never let it run dry before, and sorry for my limited vocabulary, but what does "bleed the system at the onset" mean?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Return and get a new ac I just git my first ac 70 and love it super quiet
I upgraded for a reason. I just need a solution for this dilemma. But I will take your opinion into consideration. :)

·
Registered
246 Posts