The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
740 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
By the way, anyone who can honestly claim their experience matches this thread title doesn't have an aquarium IMHO.

Here's the deal- from what I read here about algae (which is volumes), the most experienced folks seem to be saying that the primary cause is inconsistent CO2 levels. So, exactly what is considered consistent??? my regulator and diffuser deliver a very consistent amount of the gas to the water, but the CO2 system comes on 1/2 hr. before the lights do and goes off 1/2 hour before the lights do. So is this consistent??? I absolutely despise algae, and I know that small amounts of it are unavoidable, but I would like to give my newly set up tank every opportunity to avoid a plague of it if possible. My photoperiod is 8 1/2 hrs./day. What say you, o learned ones?

·
Registered
349 Posts
well I'm no expert but I also have "consistent CO2" and had algae issues. I think my issue more came from the light and not lack of CO2. I had to cut back the photo period to 7 hrs and things improved a lot

At this point I am considering raising the light a little to deal with the small amt of GDA I get on the glass.

Always good to get rid of all the algae, scrape the glass, trim off any on plants, clean the filter and then make your changes.

What is your current lighting?

·
Registered
3,056 Posts
My tank has been set up for 2 years now, and so far I've had no algae problems - EVER, lol. It's pretty heavily planted, no co2 or ferts, about 1.5 wpg, and I have nerite snails. So far so good I've not seen algae of any type.

Now watch me get home tonite and the entire tank is over run with the stuff, lol :p

·
Registered
740 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
belladee-

I'm running a 65w. Coralife PC fixture on legs w/6700K bulb. (Oh yeah, it's a 26gal. bow front.)

·
Registered
458 Posts
Algae can come from anything, light issues, debris, nutrient, c02, Anything...