The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya!

I've just "renovated" my 90 gallon aquarium and I need to know if my plants are going to be healthy and their needs are going to be catered.

Here are some specs:

- 90G aquarium.
- I'd say my aquarium is now moderately planted (not heavy, not light).
- Currently sitting at 64W of lighting (2 bulbs of 32W each).
- I got 2 different substrates, one is sand and the other is some planted aquarium substrate (can't remember the brand)
- No other fertilizers were inserted afterwards

Good, now that were on the same page, I'd like to ask a few questions:

- How does one begin CO2 injections? I've been reading alone on a few websites and some try to explain it to me like I'm a biologist. I think I'm going to need more CO2 in my tank, but I'm unaware of the risks (pH fluctuations, etc) or how often should I change my makeshift CO2 injectors. Also,

- Is the lighting OK? I've read that I should go for 1.5 watts per gallon, and that would mean that I'm significantly short.

- Should I put in some liquid fertilizers, or is a CO2 injector plenty?

That should be all for now, I will probably raise more questions in the comments if I have any. Thanks for reading!

EDIT: Here's an album to my planted tank: http://imgur.com/a/ljcvI

·
Long-time Lurker
156 Posts
your light is kinda low so there is no need for CO2 at this point, although the plant will benefit a little from it. I see that you have some hairgrass in there and I don't think your light is strong enough for it to grow.

Nice layout!

·
Registered
298 Posts
You need to start running the CO2 during the day when you are home. It can buld up during the night and suffocate the fish. During the day you can both watch what is going on and the plants will produce at least a little Oxygen so the fish will be allright.