The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone!

I am new to the tank game and I’m having grass issues.

Backstory (If anyone is interested):
I bought a betta in May and thought it would be an “easy” and fun idea to get into planted tanks. Fun? Heck yeah. Easy? Not so much. When I first got my 8 gallon tank I completely messed up by making rookie mistakes which resulted in several dead plants, severe algae growth, and horrible ethical violations to my poor betta. But I learned from the mistakes did the best research I could do and completely redid the tank. I decided to go with dwarf hair grass because I read that it was a good starter plant and could grow fairly quickly. Currently my betta is in a smaller 2 and half gallon tank and I desperately want to move him to his new home the 8 gallon.

The Actual Issue:
Basically the dwarf hair grass is not growing but it’s also not dying??
I bought the dwarf hair grass online (etsy). When I planted it, I spaced it in very small clumps around the tank and used two Seachem Flourish root tabs to help it grow. I read that you should do frequent water changes when you start a new plant so I did 2 water changes a week for 2 weeks and then moved to small water changes once a week.
In the beginning, there was little strands of algae and I read that you just need to clean them off the best you can and trim the grass. I did this and some of the grass is green while other clumps look like translucent strands.
And for the past month and half the tank has stayed the same. Which is very weird, the grass doesn’t seem to be growing higher or spreading but it also doesn’t seem to be dying. Thankfully no algae has been building aside from the little strands that have been there.
Like I said, I’ve been doing small water changes once a week and I wonder if I’m overdoing it? It’s about a 10-15% change.