The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello

I'm new. I'm pretty new to planted tanks (two years various tanks) and very new to shrimp ( two months) keeping. Right now I am keeping blue dreams in my ten gal. My betta is in there, he doesn't harm the shrimp, if anything I've seen them hitch a ride on him.

I feel like my tank is over crowded with plants. I often have to trim and replant alot into my other tanks. I just want my shrimp to be happy.

Basic water parameters:

PH 6
Nitrate 5 ppm
Ammonia 0 ppm
Nitrite o ppm
GH 75 ppm
Kh 0

I'm not sure how to get KH to go up? Is my PH to low?

I do 10% water changes once every week and a half.

I feed Bacter AE once a week, shrimp party food every other day. My mysteries get algea wafers. My betta gets betta pellets. I do have a almond leaf and some cones in my tank for extra grazing. (I do have an issue with "pest" snails).

I have a normal hang on the back filter with a sponge attached to bottom that I rinse in separate tank with tank water twice a week because it gets dirty quick.

My substrate is floval strattum. My lighting is Current Satellite pro.

Anyway. Any advice would be great. I want a better looking tank that will be optimal thriving conditions for my blue dreams and betta.

·
Registered
349 Posts
Both shrimp and betta love "heavily planted" tanks. Too many plants is usually more of an aesthetic thing, unless some of the bigger ones are causing die-off on the smaller plants. Your tank looks pretty good, I wish my 10 gallon looked like that!

Just re-read, your PH might be a little low for Neos, but your Betta probably likes it.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you! Good to know, I'll monitor if I see any die off.

Do you have suggestions on raising ph in a slow way by chance? I'm not sure what is causing such low ph.

·
Registered
349 Posts