The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm new to FW and planted tanks, but I had a SW tank a few years ago. Now I've got a planted 54g corner I'm looking to stock with fish!

Currently:
Fluorite black in the back and Fluorite black sand in the front
Rotala Indica, Red Tiger Lilly, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant, bunch of hitchhiking pond snails
Plenty of canister filtration

I want a variety of interesting (colorful, striped or decorated) active fish that get along with each other and the plants. I would much prefer different SMALL(ish) fish to large ones. It seems FW fish like to school, but I don't want my tank to have too many of one type.

Here's my list of ideas so far, but please recommend anything I've overlooked. I'm not necessarily expecting to be able to get all of these:

6 zebra danios (will probably start with these)
1 Pleco (is just one OK? something interesting but not too expensive)
6 kuhli loach (clowns get too big, but I want something with personality)
3 Otocinclus vittatus
4 ember tetras
?Boesemani Rainbow? (pretty but no way can I fit a bunch. perhaps some other rainblow?)
? cherry barb
? dwarf gouramis

Any ideas are welcome.

·
Registered
211 Posts