The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, may have figured this out but I need some reassurance. I am new to this, about 1 1/2 months with my tank was going strong. Everything was fine but everything started going downhill. I didn't think for some reason that I would need to get ferts going so soon, only had plants in for 3 weeks. Tank is 55gallon, 3.96 wpg, co2, eco-balance substrate. 9 hours of light

I am now suffering from BGA and brown hair algae along with plants melting off or more so being strangled by algae. I noticed I had 0 nitrates, started dosing with KNO3. I also use well water, which has 0 from the beginning. So I guess I should heavily dose with KNO3? The plants look healthier after a few days of dumping a ton of kno3 in.

My tank is also at 10ppm+ with phosphate, is that too high? Should I even dose with kh2po4?

As far as CSM-B, is there a test I should be running so see what my tanks needs or should I just keep putting in what people recommend?

Also, I think I have gotten the co2 down, my drop checker towards the end of day turns lime green. But my dkh is 11 and my ph 6.2, it starts at 6.7. According to the drop checker I am at optimal levels but according to the chart, it says it insufficient. At this point, I started cranking in the co2 because I read it can't be too much. My fish don't seem to gasp though. Does it look like I have co2 problems, also should I start my co2 before the lights come on?

I was going to do a blackout to kill off the bga and brown hair algae but wanted to know everyones thoughts to see if I was going in the right direction or what I should change? I don't want to have the same problem again.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
KNO3: