The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all-

I'm transitioning a 46-gallon bowfront from a (yawn!!!) Malawi Peacock tank to a heavily planted tank (the Malawi tank was transitioned from a tropical community tank, where I could not keep a plant alive). I'm new to planted tanks, although not new to fishkeeping. I have some questions about the equipment involved.

I currently have 12 harlequin rasboras in residence with some plastic plants. Substrate is 3" of Eco-Complete. I currently have a Rena XP2 running.
Here's my new equipment: Eheim 2217, Gamma 8W uv sterilizer, pressurized CO2 system from GreenLeaf, inline glass co2 diffuser, Current T5 HO 39x4 lighting (I swapped the 2 actinic blue bulbs for 2 freshwater bulbs).

I was going to retire my Rena and just use the Eheim, but now I'm rethinking that and would love some advice. I would like to set up the UV sterilizer as an inline unit; I would also like to add an inline heater. And obviously the co2 diffuser is inline. Should I run these all off the Eheim and forget the Rena? Should I keep the Rena and use it to run everything off of so the Eheim's flow is not reduced? Should I mix and match? If so, how? Of course, the point of running everything inline is to reduce the clutter in the tank, but if I have two filters, that's going to be a lot of clutter!!!

I also have some questions about the fish stocking, but should I start a new thread for that? (I'm also a newbie to forums!!!)

:help:
Thanks!!!

·
Registered
21,012 Posts