The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear shrimp masters,

I recently picked up some S-SSS CRS juveniles from theshrimptank for my 3 gallon nano tank. It's my first time trying these shrimp and I've done the research, hoping for long term success. However, since I haven't kept them before, I'm not exactly sure what to expect in the first couple days of receiving them and if I should be worried if their behavior seems abnormal. Some feedback would be appreciated. First, the stats.

Ammonia - I want to say 0. I've tested with API test kit and it's definitely super close to the yellow, but I almost feel like I can see the faintest tint of green when I compared it to tests with drinking water.
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 0
KH - 0-1
GH - 5
PH - 6.4
TDS - 170
Temp - 68 F
Filtration - Mini HOB filter

The tank is using Aquasoil. I've started cycling it about a month ago with tap water, which in the bay area is super soft. I am getting some DI tonight for future water changes. I had originally added DIY CO2 to boost plant growth as much as possible. The tank has lots of moss, some crypts, java fern, and anubias. Lights run 10 hrs a day. Since adding the CRS, I stopped the CO2.

I drip acclimated the shrimps for 45 mins with airline tube and a knot. Old water to new water ratio became 1:2 by end of drip acclimation.

1) Could stopping the CO2 cause a potential rise in ammonia since the plants would be consuming less? Hench the tinge of green? With CO2, PH may drop to 6.0 or 6.2. Of course, I could use a less aggressive mix of DIY CO2.

2) Are the CRS less active around 68F?

3) Their behavior when the lights are on seems to involve swimming around a lot, landing, maybe idling a little/picking at stuff, and then swimming around more. They don't seem to walk around that much... Is this a bad sign?

4) How long does it take them to get comfortable to the new home? I've had them for 36 hrs so far.