The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I'm new to aquariums in general. My son wants some goldfish, so the fish are the priority, but I'd like a few live plants (but plants are secondary to the health of the fish).

I have no aquarium yet, but have a filter. My son wants goldfish, so this means cooler water. What setup would be most economical and complementary-- given constraints such as:

Freshwater
No trimming
65° to 68° temps
30 gallon tank. EDIT: Now 56 (30"x18"x24")
two ryukin goldfish
Filter flow = AquaClear 50 plus Emperor 400
No added CO2
No regular fertilizing
Hardy plants (impossible to kill)
Flourite and sand substrate

I am fine with putting sand and Flourite as substrate if needed. I have no hood/lightbox (I have no tank right now, even) but I'd rather buy whatever will keep the temperature best for the fish and get plants that are okay with that.

What hardy plants wouldn't require trimming? What lights would I need for those plants? What substrate?

·
Registered
639 Posts
I've never actually kept goldfish so I'm probly not the one who has the best idea on this but I might give you some advice, lighting is essential, pretty much no matter what the case, I mean everyone wants to be able to see their fish right?
Heating isnt essential for goldfish certainly but I know a guy who kept goldfish at 82 degrees F.