The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I have a 29 gallon tank (18" high) and want to have a carpet of dwarf hairgrass. I am pretty new to growing live plants in an aquarium. I bought a marineland 29 gallon kit from petsmart that comes with led lights. I have a few questions hopefully someone can help me before my head explodes.

1. I figured the led lights that came with my kit are too low powered to grow hairgrass (may be wrong???) so I considered buying a finnex ray 2 or finnex fugeray (i like the moonlight) with a glass top. Are any of these lights strong enough? Would I be extremely limited in what I can grow in the future?

2. I am also considering using Eco-complete as my substrate. Wondering if this would work?

3.Is Co2 required? I prefer not to use it.

Pretty overwhelmed with the info found on the web. Please help.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Welcome. A ray2 should be good for the hair grass. At 16" (with soil) it should provide about medium light. You can reduce intensity with egg crate or a semi opaque plastic if the light is too strong and u get algae. For carbon you can start with seachem excel. Plants need some source of it to grow. Ecocomplete is fine, there is also active flora which is similar but some ppl have seen better results.

What other plants are you considering-- for mid and backgrounds

Your at a good start but keep on reading.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome. A ray2 should be good for the hair grass. At 16" (with soil) it should provide about medium light. You can reduce intensity with egg crate or a semi opaque plastic if the light is too strong and u get algae. For carbon you can start with seachem excel. Plants need some source of it to grow. Ecocomplete is fine, there is also active flora which is similar but some ppl have seen better results.

What other plants are you considering-- for mid and backgrounds