The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an amateur when it comes to aquariums, I had the basic 10 gallon tanks growing up with all the plastic plants, ceramic caves, and even had some bright colored gravel (I have heard this referred to as clown puke), and all sorts of fish. I have a 3,000 gallon pond that I have had for six years now with 3 koi that range in size from 18" to 22", about 30-40 goldies, lots of rosy reds and all sorts of frogs, snails and even a snake or two have come to visit. So I have some experience with taking care of fish and balancing the whole thing out, cycles and even the yearly algae bloom every spring.

So why am I now interested in starting a planted tank hobby? I really like to garden and enjoy my fish that are in my pond, but I can only enjoy them about 8 months a year before it gets too cold and I have to shut everything down for the winter. I have always wanted an aquarium again but I always thought that I wanted a salt water reef, however a friend of mine had one and I saw how much work it took so I just never really got into it. What was originally driving me to the saltwater reefs was that they were living things and the fish were pretty cool as well. So this past week I was doing some research and came across several web sites and forums that talked about planted tanks or aquascaping (I think these are the same thing from what I can tell but if not please let me know) and several youtube videos that were just amazing. I showed my wife several of these and she was like when you going to start on ours. Doing a planted tank would bring my passion of plants and fish indoors and would be a great hobby for me to get into.