The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm relatively new to fish, although my dad had a huge tank inside, as well as our outdoor koi pond when I was a teenager. I had very little to do with either, other than feeding the koi (cuz it's awesome having the equivalent of an aquatic dog). I have had Betta over the years, and currently have two flashy boys (separate tanks).

Last night a friend helped me set up a 10 gallon tank, and I'm putting it through it's cycle before adding any fish. I'm one to do lots of research before obtaining any live "things' (plants or fish) and this forum seems to be a fantastic resource, so I'm glad to be here.

Fish are new to me, but pets in general are not.. I've had horses, dogs, and right now have cats and rats, and now the fish.

Glad to meet you all!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, my friend has suggested Live bearers to start with, nice and easy, and if I want babies they're easy to produce (quite frankly, right now I don't really care if I have babies.. babies will just mean a bigger tank or swaps, so I'm a-okay with adults eating babies).

Based on my friend's recommendation: I like flashy bright colors - so probably some neon, Sarpae or bleeding heart tetras. i like some of the fancy guppies as well, males are especially gorgeous with some of those fin colors and speckles. I like dalmatians too. Although in reading thru some of the boards here Ghost fishes are really neat (i've already forgotten the name of them). And the body type on a Danio is appealing, although admittedly I haven't done any research on them, so I don't really know what's out there.