The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone
I'm new to shrimp & should be getting my first lot of 10 RCS soon so I'm excited about that!!!

I'd like to keep them with my fish in a 30g tank & was wondering about aggression of my fish. I have the following:

3 Albino Cory
4 Swartz's Cory Cats
2 Panda Cory
2 Zebra Danio
1 Celestial Pearl Danio
2 Serpae Tetra
3 Red Wag Platy

I think they should be safe with these guys but please advise.

Are there certain parameters I should be aware of? PH level, ect.

What's the chances of the 10 I get breeding & making lots of babies?

Can I keep different species of shrimp together & are there any consequences by doing this like cross breeding?

Thanks for any info you can share.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Here are two links that answer your question of what different species of shrimp you can keep together. And the consequence of cross breeding shrimp is that you can get some really ugly ones (wild nature coloured).

For example, you can't expect to get orange if you breed red & yellow shrimp together... you'll probably get an ugly brown one lol.

Charts:

http://www.theshrimpfarm.com/articl...hart.php?sid=E0380817952BFA599FBF01C625678183

http://www.planetinverts.com/Shrimp-Chart3.jpg?sid=E0380817952BFA599FBF01C625678183

More info on interbreeding:

http://www.shrimp-tank.com/interbreeding

·
Registered
6,169 Posts
Lesley, for the fish you mentions I have heard from others that cory's will get along with shrimp. However, the danios are super active and will cause the shrimp to hide. The danios might also eat shrimplets but will not generally harm the adult shrimp.