The Planted Tank Forum banner

New to RCS

1465 Views 11 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  Corydoradaxplora
Hi, I am just getting into raising red cherry shrimp. I'm wondering if there is anything useful or any tips that could help me. I am using a 5 gallon planted tank(dwarf hair grass, marimo moss balls, and a java fern) and have not purchased my shrimp yet. I plan to get about 5-6 to start and go from there. My water is slightly soft declorinated well water with a pH of around 7. I have been cycling with ammonium hydroxide for about a week and am just seeing nitrites and nitrates. Any tips or changes I should make would help. Thanks!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Hi Landonnap! I am new here too but read this site often via tapatalk. Thought I would sign up to help out when I can and get help when I need it too I would recommend you have a intake cover to ensure baby or even adult shrimp dont get sucked into it unless you are using a sponge filter. You might want to check gh and kh if possible and pickup a tds pen on amazon for cheap. Also be sure to drip acclimate them when you get them for at least an hour. They can go into osmotic shock otherwise. You can search youtube for drip acclimating shrimp and it will show you all need to know about it. I hope the best for you!
Reactions: 2
great information

Hi Landonnap! I am new here too but read this site often via tapatalk. Thought I would sign up to help out when I can and get help when I need it too I would recommend you have a intake cover to ensure baby or even adult shrimp dont get sucked into it unless you are using a sponge filter. You might want to check gh and kh if possible and pickup a tds pen on amazon for cheap. Also be sure to drip acclimate them when you get them for at least an hour. They can go into osmotic shock otherwise. You can search youtube for drip acclimating shrimp and it will show you all need to know about it. I hope the best for you!
Great info