The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to live plants in the aquarium and recently put in a few leopard vals and amazon swords into my tank. I want to keep them growing/healthy so I was researching a few things that might help. The things I were thinking about doing were 1. getting fertilizer root tabs and 2. using the seachem flourish excel product. I've read some people saying the excel could melt vals but I've seen some that say otherwise. Would either option be the best route to go? I don't want to go overboard but to just keep the plants alive/growing. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Live Plant Help

I'm relatively new to live plants in the aquarium and recently put in a few leopard vals and amazon swords into my tank. I want to keep them growing/healthy so I was researching a few things that might help. The things I were thinking about doing were 1. getting fertilizer root tabs and 2. using the seachem flourish excel product. I've read some people saying the excel could melt vals but I've seen some that say otherwise. Would either option be the best route to go? I don't want to go overboard but to just keep the plants alive/growing. Thanks in advance
Hello Ask...

Primitive plants, like types of Vallisneria, are sensative to the carbon in some of the SeaChem products. SeaChem is expensive and there are other liquids that work very well, without the carbon in them. Liquids are very easy to dose, there's nothing that needs to be put into the tank manually. I don't like to sick hands, equipment or anything else into the tank. Doing this tends to mess up my hard tank work. Just my opinion, though.

If you want to give your plants the best chance for good growth, then keep the tank water very clean, with large, frequent water changes, research and then provide the proper lighting for your plants and use a good fertilizer and dose according to the instructions.

B

·