The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm new to the planted tank world. I've had reef tanks in the past but have always admired the beautiful planted aquariums that I've come across online from time to time. I decided to pick up a 40 breeder and give it a shot

My setup so far...

40 breeder with a Finnex 24/7 36" LED Light
Aquaclear 110 (500)
Koralia 1050
200 Watt Finnex heater with digital thermostat
25lbs of Nat Geo black gravel (same size as flo-max gravel)
20lbs of Flo-Max

I ordered 4 pots of the dwarf hair grass that's supposed to stay around 2-3" tall and got that planted on Friday. I didn't get fancy with the aquascape, I just left the gravel flat and planted the grass. I'll get fancy after I learn what I'm doing.

I'm wanting to do co2 to get things going. I have access to 20lb co2 tanks for free at work so I need to get a good regulator and ph controller. I don't want to buy something that's going to clog on me in a few months and since I'm new to this I want to know some decent brands and what's worth investing in. I'm not sure what all I need but I'm hoping you guys can share with me some vital information that will assist me in setting up a stable environment. I won't be adding fish for a while, I just want to focus on the plants for now.

Please point me in the right direction of a co2 regulator, reactor, bubble counter, ph controller, etc... What do I need folks?

Thanks in advance for the help!!!

I'll post a picture of my sorry looking display for you all to see what I'm working with so far...haha

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Hi and welcome to the hobby.

A monoculture is fine but in the beginning I would strongly suggest adding more fast growing plants. Consider Egeria/Elodea, Rotalas, Hygrophilas and some floating plants. You can slowly remove them after your aquarium is stable enough.