The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been reading a lot about planted tanks . My husband bought me a new 55 gallon tank so I could start a low tech planted aquarium. I’m not looking to use CO2 yet as I’m just starting out and learning. What are the best substrates to use? And what plants should I start out with . I know I should plant a lot starting out . Any advice would be amazing!! Thanks

·
Registered
40 Posts
For plants, if you're a beginner, stay away from Pearl weed. It never stops growing and could be a pain. It is very popular, and probably one of the best looking plants in a 55 gallon tank. I would recommend Water Wisteria. Put a bunch in the tank and it should be good. Gravel is definitely a better substrate than sand. Sand is also not very well for beginners.

·
Registered
452 Posts
- Yes, definitely plant a lot. A 55 is going to need a lot of plants. It is very common to buy what you think is a lot and then to realize you need more once you actually plant it. This definitely happened to me with my first tank, and you just buy more plants. You may be able to find deals from local hobbyists (Facebook marketplace, craigslist, through a local club) and we have a sales board here.

- Stick to tried and true low tech plants, the easier the better. I like this list, but that's just a starting point. I think it's smart to try lots of different types of plants rather than buying a lot of just a few species because it can be hard to predict what you will be successful with and what you will like the most.