The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. My name is Kryssie. I’m a 33 year old lady from north Texas. I am a wife, mother, and veteran. I love large breed dogs (Alaskan Malamutes), sci-fi shows (The100, Star Trek Discovery), fitness, and writing. I have a 13 year old daughter. I was in the Army as a medic for 9 years. Now I’m a stay at home mom.

I’m just getting into freshwater since my wife and I rescued 5 glofish from my brother in law. Ive been keeping reef aquariums for about 4 years, maybe 5. Ive had two twenty gallon nano reefs, two 75 gallon reefs, and two 40 gallon reefs. The two 40 gallons are my current tanks, with a few wrasses, clownfish and gobies. I love it, and feel like I got the hang of it by the time I started my 75 gallon. But this freshwater is new to me.

Right now I have the 5 glofish that I rescued in the 10 gallon tank they came with, but I’m cycling a 29 gallon tank with an old Kessil AP700 I had laying around so I can add plants. I’m still in the research phase of the planted tank world, so I’m taking it pretty slow. Today the wife and I added two bags of Eco-start complete, some rocks, and driftwood. We did a pretty basic aquascape, but I think it looks pretty decent.

We have a RODI system set up already for our reef tanks since I live in a rural area, but I’m wondering if that strips too much out of the water for a planted tank. I’m also researching CO2 systems, but it is pretty overwhelming.

I’m attaching some photos of my malamutes (Spock is the big red boy, and Khaleesi is the smaller white girl) my reef tanks, my aquascape for my new 29gal planted tank, and one of my Sump from my 75 gallon reef that I was pretty proud of before I moved from Fort Hood to my new house.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to learning from you all and sharing my new tank progress.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,921 Posts
Hello and welcome!