The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, Im new to make a vivarium and was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to get started and what i should use to attach things to the sides. Im doing this to a 150gal tank. i have some ideas but i want more oppions before i really get started. right now i know im going to put 4 giant african millipedes maybe some madigascar hissing roaches. possible a tree frog (or frog of some sort) its going to have a water area i was thinking of puting fish (gold fish not sure) and possible a turtle again not sure about that. If at all possible i would like to be able to incorperate my taranchula somewhere.. i would love any input that anyone has for me!!

Thanks for reading
GalaxyGirl

·
Registered
246 Posts
Well, my first word of advice is to DO YOUR RESEARCH!!! It's undoubtedly the single most important part of being able to maintain a feasible vivarium while keeping both your flora and fauna happy. Check out the forums around the internet about different vivaria, including the following sites:

www.dendroboard.com
www.blackjungle.com
www.vivariumforums.com
www.amphibiancare.com
www.thechocohut.com

I can't say that I know of any really good insect forums- you'll have to look for those yourself.

As for your water section, stay away from goldfish. They're messy, big, and don't tolerate the tropical temperatures necessary to maintain the vivarium very well. Again, make certain that you do lots of research. Depending upon the size of the water section, you can decide between a vast array of aquatic flora and fauna. You need to provide us with some more information before we can be very helpful.