The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi There, please bear with me here as I am a newbie who is struggling cycling a fishless, planted tank. All was going well as I started the process in February as you can see in the graph. I added pressurised co2 at the beginning and all plants were doing really well. I was advised not to do any water changes for 4 weeks. I was not really sure whether I was optimising the co2 so took advise from the internet and overdosed the drops to turn the drop checker yellow and then work back to lime green. This happened at the end of February and I believe it caused a significant drop in my PH.
Unfortunately it did not click till mid March that this drop in PH would cause problems and as you can see it looks like it stalled the cycle.

Since then I have switched off the co2, undertaken water changes (upto 50%) daily however each time my PH continues to drop from a starting point of 7.8 to 6.0 in 24 hours. The GH and KH remain at GH 4 and KH 3

My tap water parameters are PH 7.8, GH 4, KH 3

I believe this PH drop is not allowing me to cycle my tank but for the life of me I cannot see what is causing the drop. I don’t believe there is anything in the tank (substrate and hardscape) that can be causing this. I’m at my wits end so any help would be most appreciated

Hopefully the graph below is legible...

·
Banned
628 Posts