The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. This is my first attempt at a planted aquarium. It seems I have jumped into this before actually being intellectually ready. Now I'm on the internet looking for answers. This community looks amazing. I plan to stick around.

I have a 29 gallon and Eheim classic 250 canister filter(unestablished).

Question:

I purchased fluval strathum substrate. The directions say to rinse lightly. I did this, and I can tell the water wouldn't be instantly clear. I filled my aquarium as gently as I could but the water is quite muddy. I cant really see anything in the aquarium. I don't want to turn on any filtration because I dont know if I should wait. I'm not quite sure what I should do at this point. Any tips are very welcome. Thank you in advance. I'm sorry if this question is super boring.

·
Super Moderator
11,987 Posts
Turn on your filter and let it do its thing.

The dust from the substrate will eventually settle.

In the meantime, you can look around for articles regarding cycling your aquarium so that it can support fish/shrimp/other livestock.

Finally, welcome to TPT.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
You can do a few water changes aimed at removing more of the cloudy water if you want. It is like rinsing the substrate in the tank. Keep the vacuum intake as low as you can, and dig in a bit where you can.

If the tank is not yet planted then I would drain it for planting, mist the plants, then refill.

Then turn on the filter. Run it with some floss or quilt batting and check it daily or every other day. Rinse and reuse.

You can start the fishless cycle while working to clear the water.

It really is not a lot of work to get the water clear. Mostly just waiting.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·