The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...remember I am new to the aquatic plants.

Do you only have to have all "low" light/ "high" light plants, or could you have a mixture? Do the "low" light plants suffer with the extra light? or is it like non-aquatic plants...some like shade, and some like sun? Low light, would you put drift wood or something to "shade" them?

Also, Java moss....most people have this in their tanks..what benefit does it have besides something for fry to hide in?...where can I get some in Texas?(Ellis County?)

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
...remember I am new to the aquatic plants.

Do you only have to have all "low" light/ "high" light plants, or could you have a mixture? Do the "low" light plants suffer with the extra light? or is it like non-aquatic plants...some like shade, and some like sun? Low light, would you put drift wood or something to "shade" them?

Also, Java moss....most people have this in their tanks..what benefit does it have besides something for fry to hide in?...where can I get some in Texas?(Ellis County?)

You can have a mixture. For plants that enjoy lower light you can shade them with plants or other items, just make sure they are getting light. Anything you can do to shade them is perfect as long as they get light.

Moss feeds off of nitrates from what I hear. It is good for fry and also baby shrimp. If you put it in a container with a betta in it, the betta has a larger chance of survival since the moss is feeding off the nutrients the betta is supplying!

·
Are these real?
15,720 Posts
Actually, I don't know of any "low light plants" that wouldn't thrive under higher light conditions.

You could say that "low light plants" are more adaptable to lower light levels, while "high light plants" are not, they need higher levels to thrive.

So if you have a high light tank, you can definitely mix, or put only "low light" plants in it, if you would like.

·
Registered