The Planted Tank Forum banner

New planted tank... Need advice/suggestions!

1104 Views 22 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  agimlin
Hi all! this is my first posting on PT forums so go easy on me :icon_lol:

I am wanting to start a low/semi-low tech planted tank with NO CO2 (store bought or DIY) as I am new to this and do not want the added hassle. I will run you down what I am thinking of doing, from tank size to filters to ferts. I would like some feedback on my ideas whether they be good or bad (I do well with constructive criticism) So here we go!

1. Tank: 20g long (30" x 13" x12")

2. Substrate: Eco-Complete (possibly mixed with some gravel, not quite sure yet)

3. Lighting: 40-50w (2-2.5 wpg) (Any certain brand you might suggest and I do not have a hood yet...)

4. Filter: Aquaclear powerhead 50 with AC quick filter (suggestions on something better??)

5. Heater: 150w (suggest brand??)

6. Ferts: Seachem Excel and Flourish

7. Plants: This is a list of ones I am looking into I do not plan on putting them all in.
-Green Hygro
-Willow Leaf Hygro
-Watersprite
-Giant Hygro
-Anubias Barteri
-Java Fern
-Nanas
-Dwarf Sag

8. Fish: This is a list like the plants. I will not be stocking all of them just some of them.
Cherry barbs (5-6)
Corys (4-5)
Black Neon Tetra (5-6)
Otos (4-5)
German Blue Ram (1-2) Centerpiece fish??
Shrimp(4-5)

Thank you for taking the time to read my post... i hope that you can help out a planted noobie
See less See more
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Welcome to TPT!

Your plan sounds pretty good to me.