The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to creating planted tanks but i just recently set up a 20g tank i have 3 anubias and some dwarf grass in there. It has no filter heater or ( water movment). It was setting for about 2 days then i added 3 cherry shrimp and 2 ghost shrimps and 1 snail. I let the acclimate to the water for a good time the after putting them in i noticed the snail and 1 of the ghost shrimps were dead, proably purchased like that. I have not tested the water yet but the other shrimps seem to be doing fine. well i have to add some sort of water movement or heater? Or would it be fine if i keep on building the eco system. Any ideas?

·
Banned
628 Posts
Since you seem willing to go either way, I would put a box filter on the tank. Some circulation would be good for the plants. I don't know if a box filter would be bad for the shrimp though.

·
Registered
2,141 Posts
If you're settled on ntp then a small powerhead to improve circulation would help. If you're up to doing hybrid/ low tech a filter will help you by giving you more surface area for bb to cultivate AND add flow.

When you say setting does that mean you just set it up and filled it 3 days ago? Do you know your parameters?

·
Registered
351 Posts
If it's a new set up, it needs to cycle. You risk an ammonia, nitrite spikes which could kill your critters. Ghost shrimp are notoriously kept in poor conditions so it's hard to tell what killed yours. Without knowing your water parameters I'm guessing stress and/or ammonia?

·
Registered
32 Posts