The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I was just browsing kickstarter and noticed a jellyfish tank that is being made by jelly fish art that company that has been around for a while without really producing an excellent kreisel for an affordable price, well now they've kinda nailed it. It is simple, a bit over priced still, but will one up my mini m for sure if I manage to get one.

I'm not affiliated with them or anything, but if you're interested here is the link.
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1497255984/desktop-jellyfish-tank?ref=category

For anyone who knows about these things the one issue is they like it pretty cool, so chillers are usually required. If you're in a hot area it might be tough to keep the temp down low enough, but I'm no expert.

-Andrew

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
Friend of mine showed me that a few months ago. Been seriously considering it since then. Guess there's only a few more days to pre-order and I don't have the cash right now. Oh well....

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
I looked at this thread a few days back when it was first posted and I thought that the idea was really neat. I showed it to a friend of mine who used to own a saltwater/reef store, and he told me that jellyfish are apparently REALLY hard to keep in most systems because in marine tanks a lot of flow is important (both for filtration and for oceanic simulation purposes) and that this flow bangs up the jellyfish pretty badly, eventually killing them. They frequently get sucked into intakes as well. He was not exactly sure about this particular design, so if anyone actually has one of these I would be interested to see how it works out. Jellyfish are cool animals, and I bet that a display of them would be very cool to see. Thanks for posting this. (BTW, my friend has been out of the saltwater trade for many years, and it could be that things have changed a bit since then...)

·
Registered
7,228 Posts