The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, Im new to the site but I have lurked around here for a while. I have a 75 gallon tank that is a work in progress. Its been set up now for about 6 months. I run 250 watts (x2 110 vhos and a 40 watt Flr.) for about 9 and half hours a day. C02 is feed in at 3 bpm with the help of 5lb tank and reg. The diffusion is done with a in line diffuser run off of a powerhead. I am constantly messing with the layout trying to get some sort of form to it. Heres some pics of how the tanks looks now. Its not the best looking tank but I think Im on the right track lol. I had a algea break out but its under controll now so you can see some of that in the pics. Be honest with how you think it looks, I want to make it better so all comments are welcomed.

·
Registered
869 Posts
Aside from the algae break out, I think it shows alot of potential. I am by no means a professional, or anything relatively close. Take my words with a grain of salt. Or, even less, your choice.

There are alot of things I really like about it.You have a nice variety of wide leaved and thin leaved plants. However, they all seem to the in the back half of the tank. Foreground is all well and good, but foreground is even better, if theres something there to define it. Now it's just open gravel thats collection mulm (which would look more pleasing and probably help with the algae problem if you vaccumed it up).

Secondly, you have a nice selection of plants, I especially like the little splash of red, but they are all the same height. You'll find the groups look more impressive if you slope them. Varying heights makes it more intersting. Not to say that several inches difference is better, but a bit could make it more interesting.