The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wanting to replace my magnum filter on one of my tanks. Over time the magnum has been getting to loud and I'm going to replace it with a new eheim. It's a nice planted tank with gourami's and tetra's. My concern is that I don't want to disturb it's condition... my paremeters seem to be working and all of it's inhabitants seem to be thriving. What's the procedure for replacing a filter? I've never done this on a established tank before.

Thoughts, suggestions?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
20g.

I also have a 55g that I just set up and has been cycling for a week now. If the 55g was finished with it's cycling, I would just transfer everything over there, but that's not the case. I'm also concerned that the magnum will give out at any time now, so replacing it needs to happen now.

·
Premium Member
9,417 Posts
Are you getting an Eheim Classic 2213? Or an Ecco?

This is what I did and it seemed to work for me. I'm not sure if there's a "right" way.

1) Open up old filter, remove half the old media and put it in a pile.
2) Open up new filter, remove half the new media and put it in a pile.
3) Put half of the old media into the new filter.
4) Put half of the new media into the old filter.
5) Run both filters for at least a week or so. It'd be better with two.
6) Open up the old filter, remove the "newer" media.
7) Open up the new filter, remove the "old" media.
8) Swap so that the new filter has the "new" cycled media.

When I put the old media in the new filter (and the new media in the old filter), I put the ceramic rings in a media bag I got from my LFS so that I could take it out easily later.

It worked for me since the old media was used to quickly culture bacteria in the new filter. Then I just swapped out the old media because there was gunk all over it.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·