The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!
This is my first post and I’m excited to be a part of this community. I am new to having a planted RCS only tank. My tank is one month old and cycled.

Here are my current specs:

JBJ 3G Picotope running stock filter with activated charcoal
Sponge prefilter
Seachem black fluorite substrate (like black sand)
RO water only
Plants: java fern, Anubis, anacharis, and micro sword
Floating spider driftwood
PH 6.8-7.2 range
Ammonia - 0
Nitrites - 0
Temp 76-78 F
RCS: two adults and a dozen or so of one week old shrimplets
Food ; algae wafers & Shirakura Crystal Red Shrimp food

A week ago I noticed my PH being high at 7.8. An experience RCS keeper/family member said to check the rock I had in the tank to see if it was leeching. Sure enough, it failed the vinegar fizzy test. I removed the rock. Saturday, I took in a water sample to a LFS who has a variety of inverts for sale and the readings were the same there as at home. They said no new plants or RCS for a couple weeks. They said no water changes for a week until things balance out. I had been told to chance two measured cups out per day to help PH. I think I shocked the RCS because I had about 4 die. They suggested to put a piece of driftwood in and that will assist PH. They said I don’t need to cure their driftwood because it is already tank safe but will leech tannins but those will resolve. They said I would probably see a white film on the wood but that will also go away. All normal with waiting for wood to water log.