The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI Im new to owning a canister filter. I just bought an Eheim G160 or the pro 3. Anyways only have it for less than a week on 75g with some koi in it and the water never seem clear even if 99% new water in tank. I changed the water again and filled it back up. One week now and the water turned GREEN!! What is going on guys?

I know that koi makes alot of mess but prior to putting this eheim 160 on, I just have 2 55/75 aqueon hanging filters on the tank and it stays clear (not green) up to 2 months.

Help with any advice is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,406 Posts
HI Im new to owning a canister filter. I just bought an Eheim G160 or the pro 3. Anyways only have it for less than a week on 75g with some koi in it and the water never seem clear even if 99% new water in tank. I changed the water again and filled it back up. One week now and the water turned GREEN!! What is going on guys?

I know that koi makes alot of mess but prior to putting this eheim 160 on, I just have 2 55/75 aqueon hanging filters on the tank and it stays clear (not green) up to 2 months.

Help with any advice is greatly appreciated.
Is your tank near a window and getting light throughout the day? If so close the blinds. You can also invest in a uv sterilizer.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Is your tank near a window and getting light throughout the day? If so close the blinds. You can also invest in a uv sterilizer.
Its not near window at all. But it does have a light on top of tank. I just don't get why all of sudden I have to worry about algae. It had never happened like this before the canister.

Bump:
Did you save the media from the old filters?

What are the current test results, especially for ammonia?[/QUOT