The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
What do you mean by self sustaining?

I'd suggest brushing up on cycling aquariums for one. But aside from that, I'm not exactly sure what you're looking for, so can't really give suggestions.

·
Registered
736 Posts
First you will need to upgrade that crap on top (the light). LOL

Finnex 24/7 is the first that comes to mind when it comes to regular planted tanks not to low not to high (lighting wise).

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited by Moderator)
What do you mean by self sustaining?

I'd suggest brushing up on cycling aquariums for one. But aside from that, I'm not exactly sure what you're looking for, so can't really give suggestions.
I am new to this and still learning, so I may have misunderstood something along the way. Let me explain.

From what I understand so far, there are routines that need to be done to keep my tank clean and healthy: scrubbing algae, water changes, cleaning gravel (using a siphon vacuum was suggested) and that with a 5-gallon tank, I heard it's actually harder to maintain and clean (Sadly, my apartment does not allow tanks larger than a 5-gallon) To combat this, I was trying to find out if a low-maintenance (or even a self-sustaining) tank set up is possible. What I mean by self-sustaining is that my tank and its inhabitants can survive without constant care from me besides basic set up requirements (filters, heaters, lights, etc)

I've read articles online about self-sustaining tanks (you can easily find some with a quick google search) It deals with setting up a tank's food chain with a harmony that will allow it to thrive on its own, meaning the tank will require less attention from me in the end. From what I've gathered, my smaller size tank would thrive with a chain of algae and micro-organisms, plants, micro-critters (micro-planarians, daphnia, small pond snails), and herbivorous species (freshwater shrimp)