The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am very new to aquariums and am in the process of planning a 30 gallon planted aquarium. I've been reading a lot and researching but mostly on fish, plants and cycling.. And snoozing through the light sections..

Well I may have made a mistake, but I plopped 330 bucks down on a 4 bulb T5 HO AquaticLife 30" light system. And now I'm thinking I may have made my first "in the LFS getting excited and going for it on the advice of someone selling me something".. blunder.

Then I found this site and read about over-lighting, algae, etc. :confused1:

Did I over-do it? It's still in the sealed box, my tank hasn't got water or anything in it yet I'm going slow. So I could probably return it for at least store credit (for fish and plants and lower light)..

·
Registered
302 Posts
Take it back! you only need a two bulb and you could spend the extra cash on a co2 system, substrate, ect.

Oh and I see this is your fist post so Ill be the first to welcome you here. I have only been here for a few weeks and its the only place I go for plant info. A week or two and you will already know more than the people at your lfs. Hows about a pic or a list of what you are working with so far?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Below are my notes.. Note that the plants and fish were decided upon about 6 weeks ago.. And since then I've changed my mind like 1000 times :tongue:. I even thought about ditching this whole tank and buying a bigger one.. I think I'm going crazy!

So what then, would one do with 4 bulb T5 HO setup like that? Maybe if I research it I'll want to go with it and not do the "medium light" I researched below?

Project: My first tank, 30 Gallon Planted Community Tank
Tap Water Ph: 6.6

Lighting: Unkown (thinking medium light)
Substrate: Seachem Flourite
CO2: Unknown
Filter: Aqua Clear 50

Plants: (probably won't use all these plants)